Kashmir Premier League Announced | Schedule, Timing & Teams

Being called “Pakistan’s Next Biggest League,” Kashmir Premier League is all set to be the next league we will enjoy after PSL 6. Sanctioned by Pakistan Cricket Board, The Kashmir Premier League is going to be played at some of the most gorgeous stadiums across the country soon.

Coming to us with the hashtag #KhelpAazadiSe, Kashmir Premier League is expected to begin soon. The new premier league is launched to “represent the marginalized community of our country to the whole world.” This mega cricketing even is going to be a T20 tournament will be played between 6 teams!

Kashmir Premier League Teams

The KPL is expected to be played between 6 teams from 1st April to 10th April of 2021. The location for these matches is set to be played in Muzaffarabad and Mirpur. Rawalpindi stadium is going to be a reserved venue for the matches.

Arif Malik is the president of the league, which is going to be a single league tournament in its first edition. A grand total of seven matches are expected to be played in Mirpur whereas 11 matches will be played in Muzaffarabad. The semi final and final of the series will also be played in Muzaffarabad.

The teams of the tournament will be:

  • Bagh Stallions
  • Kotli Panthers
  • Mirpur Royals
  • Muzaffarabad Tigers
  • Rawalakot Hawks
  • Overseas Warriors

Kashmir Premier League

After long trials, the first phase of selected young players has been announced. A final phase of player selection will be announced soon. According to the President Arif Malik,

We are planning to hold the player draft in the company of orphans of KORT. Since the main purpose of the league is to promote the Kashmir cause so our efforts would be to take it as close as possible to the Kashmiri people. There is no better place than the orphanage to hold the draft as they really need our support. Definitely the orphans would be feeling proud to find themselves amongst the legends of the game,” Arif said.

Many international and national players are expected to be a part of this league. Shoaib Malik will play for Mirpur Royals, Shahid Afridi will play for Muzaffarabad Tigers, Sarfaraz Ahmed will play for Overseas Warriors, Mohammad Hafeez will play for Kotli Panthers whereas Mohammad Amir is in negotiations to play for Bagh Stallions.

The anthem of the Kashmir Premier League is sung by maestro Rahat Fateh Ali Khan and the music video features stars such as Shahid Afridi, Ayesha Omar, Mehwish Hayat, Shaan Shahid, Wasim Akram, Neelam Munir, Shafqat Cheema and a lot more.

The international players will soon be drafted into the league.

Rabia Tanveer
Rabia Tanveer
Rabia Tanveer is a graduate from Kinnaird College for Women and holds a Bachelors in English Literature. She is a seasoned freelance writer with more than a decade of experience in multiple niches.
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Latest Article

Mobile Packages