Pakistan Squad for T20 Cricket World Cup Announced

After waiting for days and the fans left in anticipation, Pakistan Cricket Board has announced the Pakistan Squad for T20 World Cup. A 15- player World Cup squad has been announced as expected there are some changes to the team.

Pakistan Squad for T20 World Cup

The fate of Fakhar Zaman, Asif Ali, and Khushdil Shah was on the line, but it looks like only one of them was changed rather than all three. While the Men in Green did reach the final of the Asia Cup, they failed to perform up to the standard that they have created for themselves.

Here is the complete Pakistan Squad for T20 World Cup announced just today.

Pakistan Squad for T20 World Cup

Babar Azam remains the captain of the team and Shahdab Khan is still our vice-captain. Number three batsman Fakhar Zaman is in the traveling reserve for the world cup. He has a knee injury that he received in the final during a fielding incident. He will be rested for England’s tour of Pakistan as well.

Pakistan Squad for T20 World Cup

While this is concerning news for Fakhar Zaman, it is great news for Shan Masood who has finally been added to the team for Pakistan Squad for T20 World Cup as well as for their series against England. This is all thanks to his fantastic performance in PSL and fans have high hopes for it.

Here is the complete squad for the T20 World Cup.

  • Babar Azam (captain)
  • Shadab Khan (vice-captain)
  • Asif Ali
  • Haider Ali
  • Haris Rauf
  • Iftikhar Ahmed
  • Khushdil Shah
  • Mohammad Hasnain
  • Mohammad Nawaz
  • Mohammad Rizwan
  • Mohammad Wasim Junior
  • Naseem Shah
  • Shaheen Shah Afridi
  • Shan Masood
  • Usman Qadir

Traveling reserves:

  • Fakhar Zaman
  • Mohammad Haris
  • Shahnawaz Dahani

Star fast bowler Shaheen Shah Afridi is expected to make a full recovery by the end of this month and Pakistan Cricket Board hopes he will be ready to lead the Pakistani squad to victory in the world cup.

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 is being held in Australia and they are also the current champion. The tournament will start on 16th October and end on 13th November. Pakistan won the title in 2009 when the event was held in the United Kingdom. So far, the Men in Green have reached the final in 2007 and 2009 and reached the semifinals in 2010, 2012, and 2021, which is a record in itself.

Here is to hoping the Pakistan Squad for T20 World Cup can reach the final for the third time and bring the trophy home for the second time!

Rabia Tanveer
Rabia Tanveer
Rabia Tanveer is a graduate from Kinnaird College for Women and holds a Bachelors in English Literature. She is a seasoned freelance writer with more than a decade of experience in multiple niches.
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Latest Article

Mobile Packages