PSL 7 Final – Lahore Qalandars Snatches Their First Championship!

No one would have believed it, but Lahore Qalandars have finally done it and won the first PSL 7 Final. It was the battle of the bests, a match that had Lahori fans feeling ecstatic and sitting on the edge of their seat. After 7 seasons, one badly lost final and many, many tears, Lahore Qalandars are finally Champions of the Pakistan Super League.

PSL 7 Final

The match between Shaheed Shah Afridi’s Lahore Qalandars and Muhammad Rizwan’s Multan Sultans was already expected to be a nailbiter, but the fans got a lot more than that. The Qaddafi Stadium was packed full with a full house for the final and the crowd loved every moment of the match.

Here is what you missed about the PSL 7 Final.

First Innings – Lahore Qalandars Set the Tone

The match began with openers Fakhar Zaman and Abdullah Shafique planning on putting a strong front for the PSL 7 Final, but Fakhar gave his wicket away in the most devastating ways. A for sure 6 was caught right on the boundary and Lahore lost 3 wickets in the powerplay.

Just when it was thought Lahore would not be able to put more than 120 runs on the board, David Wiese worked his magic once more with Harry Brook by his side and set the respectful total of 180 runs in 20 overs. Asif Afridi got 3 wickets for 19 runs as the star bowler from his side.

Second Innings – Lahore Qalandars Take the PSL 7 Final

Things weren’t going well for Multan Sultans from the very beginning. They lost Shan Masood and Mohammad Rizwan from the very beginning. It was Muhammad Hafeez who took two very early wickets and Zaman Khan and Shaheen Afridi took two wickets apiece to snatch the match from Multan Sultans.

Lahore Qalandars restricted Multan Sultans to just 138 runs and took all 10 wickets and won the match with 3 balls remaining.

Awards and Winning Moments

The roar of the crowd was blistering in the PSL 7 Final as David Wiese took that last wicket and the whole city of Lahore rejoiced for hours to come. As for the winners of awards, Mohammad Hafeez got the award for Player of the Match of PSL 7 Final.

Here are all the Awards to the outstanding players of the Tournament.

  • Zaman Khan of Lahore Qalandars won Emerging Player of the Tournament of Award
  • Multan Sultans won the Spirit of Cricket Award that Mohammad Rizwan collected
  • Khushdil Shah of Multan Sultans won the All-Rounder of the Tournament Award as well as the Fielder of the Tournament Award
  • Shahdab Khan of Islamabad United won the Bowler of the Tournament for 19 wickets
  • The maestro with the bat, Fakhar Zaman of Lahore Qalandars won the Batter of the Tournament Award
  • Mohammad Rizwan of Multan Sultans received the well deserved Player of the Tournament Award
Rabia Tanveer
Rabia Tanveer
Rabia Tanveer is a graduate from Kinnaird College for Women and holds a Bachelors in English Literature. She is a seasoned freelance writer with more than a decade of experience in multiple niches.
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Latest Article

Mobile Packages