HBL PSL 8 Dates and Venues Announced

The time for PSL 8 is close and Pakistan Cricket Board and Pakistan Super League have announced the date and the venue for the upcoming season. The decision was reached today in Lahore during a meeting between the National High Performance Center and the Governing Council of HBL Pakistan Super League.

During the meeting, the owners of all six HBL PSL franchises were present in the meeting as well as the representatives for the PCB who are also GC members. Ramiz Raja, former Captain and current chairman of PCB were presiding over the meeting.


Venues Decided for HBL PSL 8

For the past few years, each season of HBL PSL has been played in Lahore and Karachi. While initially, the tournament was held in the UAE, but later it was shifted to Pakistan. As promised by Ramiz Raja, the tournament will be completely held in Pakistan.

As per the announcement, the PSL 8 will be played in the following venues:

  • Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore
  • National Stadium, Karachi
  • Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium, Rawalpindi
  • Multan Cricket Stadium, Multan

Previously, the Arbab Niaz Stadium, Peshawar was also supposed to be part of the venue but, considering the current condition of the floods as well as the overall condition of the stadium, holding matches there would be impossible.

A total of 34 matches will be played in the 8h season of PSL. Out of them, 9 matches will be played in Lahore, 9 matches will be played in Karachi, 9 matches will be played in Rawalpindi and 8 matches including the final will be played in Multan.

Date of Pakistan Super League 8

Ramiz Raja has announced that the Pakistan Super League 8 will start on 9th February and end on 19th March, which is just in time for the 2023 South Asian Games that will be held in Pakistan since 2004.

Teams Playing in HBL PSL

As per usual, there will be 6 teams playing PSL 8 for the 2023 edition. These were chances of another team making their debut, but it looks like they will not make a part of the edition this year. The teams playing the 8th edition of PSL are:

  • Islamabad United
  • Karachi Kings
  • Lahore Qalandars
  • Multan Sultans
  • Peshawar Zalmi
  • Quetta Gladiators

Lahore Qalandars will be defending the title this year.

Rabia Tanveer
Rabia Tanveer
Rabia Tanveer is a graduate from Kinnaird College for Women and holds a Bachelors in English Literature. She is a seasoned freelance writer with more than a decade of experience in multiple niches.
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Latest Article

Mobile Packages