Nigar Film Awards Announced After 12 Years Gap

After a long gap of 12 years, the Nigar Awards are decided to arranged and the nominations for the 47th Nigar Film Awards are finally announced. The event is set to take place on 16th March 2017 in Karachi.

According to a press release, The Nigar Weekly communicated to its readers for their choices in preparing nomination list so the committee through coupons got their views published in Nigar, which were submitted by the readers and then sent to the committee. After then analysing the list is finalised.

For this time the readers gave importance to fresh directors. According to the readers the Punjabi Films did not achieve high standard so they did not show much interest in the nominations. Therefore 47th Nigar Film Awards did not include the category of Punjabi Film Awards.

The first Nigar Awards ceremony was held in 1957, to honour the accomplishments of Pakistani cinema for the year 1958. Following the 46th Annual Nigar Awards in 2002, Nigar Magazine announced its discontinuation of the awards due to the collapse of the Pakistani cinema industry.And now in 2017 it is going to be revived.

The categories for the awards are best directors, best actors, best actresses, best supporting actors, best supporting actresses, best actors in a negative role, best debut directors, best debut actors and best debut actresses. The preparations for the Nigar Awards are in full swing. Below is the complete list of nominations:

Best Film

Actor in Law – The Film (Fizza Ali Mirza/Mehdi Ali)
Ho Mann Jahaan (Sheheryar Munawar, AsimRaza)
Maalik (Ashir Azeem/ Bushra Ashar Azeem)
Mah e Mir (Khurram Rana , Sahir Rasheed, Badar Ikram)
Janaan (Reham Khan, Hareem Farooq, Munir Hussain, Imran Raza Kazmi
Dobara Phir Se (Salman Iqbal, Jerjees Seja, Mehreen Jabbar)

Best Debut Director

Ashir Azeem (Malik)
Asim Raza (Ho Mann Jahan)
Anjum Shehzad (Mah-e-Mir)

amal Shah (Revenge Of The Worthless)
Hashim Nadeem (Abdullah)
Ahmed Jamal (Rehm)

Best Director

Nabeel Qureshi (Actor In Law)
Azfar Rizvi (Janaan)
Mehreen Jabbar (Dobara Phir Se)

Best Actor

Fahad Mustafa (Mah-e-Mir)
Fahad Mustafa (Actor In Law)
Mohib Mirza (Bachana)
Yasir Hussain (Lahore Say Agay)
Sajid Hassan (Rehm)

Best Actress

Mahira Khan (Ho Mann Jahaan)
Maira Khan (Revenge Of The Worthless)
Mehwish Hayat (Actor In Law)
Saba Qamar (Lahore Say Agay)
Armeena Rana Khan (Janaan)

Best Supporting Actor

Ehteshamudin (Malik)
Manzer Sehbai (Mah-e-Mir)
Alyy Khan (Zindagi Kitni Haseen Hay)
Hameed Shaikh (Abdullah)
Ajab Gull (Salute)

Best Supporting Actress

Saima (Salute)
Sanam Saeed (Dobara Phir Se)
Sonia Jahan (Ho Mann Jahaan)
Mishi Khan (Janaan)
Seerat Jaffri (Rahm)

Best Actor In Negative Role

Hasan Niyazi (Maalik)
Sheraz Butt (Salute)
Sunil Shankar (Rahm)
Sanam Saeed (Mah-e-Mir)
Amir Qureshi (Blind Love)

Best Debut Actor

Sunil Shankar (Rahm)
Feroz Khan (Zindagi Kitni Haseen Hay)
Yasir Shah (Blind Love)
Shehryar Munawar (Ho Mann Jahaan)
Adeel Hussain (Ho Mann Jahaan)

Best Debut Actress

Sajjal Ali (Zindagi Kitni Haseen Hay)
Sanam Saeed (Bachana)
Nimra (Blind Love)
Rabia Butt (Hijrat)

Best Screen Play

Yasir Hussain (Lahore Say Agay)
Ashar Azeem (Maalik)
Muhammad Pervez Kalim (Blind Love)
Fizza Ali Mirza (Actor In Law) Abdul Khaliq Khan (Zindagi Kitni Haseen Hay)

Best Story

Sarmad Sehbai (Mah-e-Mir)
Ashar Azeem (Maalik)
Fizza Ali Mirza (Actor In Law)
Asim Raza (Ho Mann Jahaan)
Khaliq Khan (Zindagi Kitni Haseen hay)

Best Dialogue

Yashir Hussain (Lahore Say Agay)
Ashar Azeem (Maalik)
Fizza Ali Mirza (Actor In Law)

Asim Raza (Ho Mann Jahaan)
Khaliq Khan (Zindagi Kitni Haseen hay)
Sarmad Sehbai (Mah-e-Mir)
Mehmood Jamal (Rahm)

Best Music

Shani Arshad (Actor In Law)
Zaib Bangash,Fakhir,Ehtesham Malik (Ho Mann Jahaan)
Soch Band (Zindagi Kitni Haseen Hay)
Haniya Aslam & Justin Gray (Dobara Phir Se)
Shiraz Uppal (Lahore Say Agay)

Best Lyricist

Oh Khudaya (Actor In Law)
Lar Gayan (Dobara Phir Se)
Baifikriyan (Lahore Say Agay)
Tootiya Taraa (Zindagi Kitni Haseen Hay)
Nazaria (Maalik)

Best Singer Male

Atif Aslam – Dil Dancer Hogaya (Actor In Law)
Asrar – Shakarwandan (Ho Mann Jahaan)
Rahat fateh Ali Khan, Oh Khudaya (Actor In Law)
Soch Band – Tootiya Taraa – (Zindagi Kitni Haseen Hay)

Best Female Singer

Aima Baig -Bai Fikriyan-(Lahore Say Agay)
Mai Dhai -Sarak Sarak (Ho Mann Jahaan)
Masooma Anwar – Naina Roye (Maalik)
Zaib Bangash – Dil Pagla (Ho Mann Jahaan)
Natasha Baig – Jhoom Lay (Janaan)

Best Choreographer

Nigah Hussain (Ho Mann Jahaan)
Wahab Shah, Hasan Rizvi (Lahore Say Agay)
James Koroni (Dobara Phir Sey)
Faizan Ehbab (Janaan)
Papur Samrath (Mah-e-Miir)

Best Cinematography

Ali Bukhari (Blind Love)
Adil Askari (Salute)
Rana Kamran (Actor In Law)
Salman Razzaq (Ho Mann Jahaan)
Asrad Khan (Lahore Say Agay)

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Latest Article

Mobile Packages