Pakistan Vs New Zealand – Match Schedule, Location and Squad

Pakistani Shaheens are ready to face off New Zealand in the new Pakistan vs New Zealand series. After their stellar performance against Zimbabwe, Pakistan cricket team is gearing up for the remaining matches of PSL 2020 and their upcoming series with New Zealand.

Pakistan Cricket Board or PCB has announced some changes and new additions to the teams With the change in the management and the leadership of the team, some big times are ahead for Pakistani team and cricket fans.

Pakistan vs New Zealand Squad Announced

Chief Selector and Head Coach Misbah ul Haq announced the names of the confident men who will wear the green jersey in the Pakistan vs New Zealand series. PCB announced 35 player squad for the upcoming tour. According to the list released, the following 35 players will be a part of the Pakistani team squad.

Pakistan Vs New Zealand

  • Abid Ali
  • Abdullah Shafique
  • Fakhar Zaman
  • Imam-ul-Haq
  • Shan Masood
  • Zeeshan Malik
  • Babar Azam (captain)
  • Azhar Ali
  • Danish Aziz
  • Fawad Alam
  • Haider Ali
  • Haris Sohail
  • Hussain Talat
  • Iftikhar Ahmed
  • Imran Butt
  • Khushdil Shah
  • Mohammad Hafeez
  • Mohammad Rizwan
  • Rohail Nazir
  • Sarfaraz Ahmed
  • Imad Wasim
  • Shadab Khan
  • Usman Qadir
  • Yasir Shah
  • Zafar Gohar
  • Amad Butt
  • Faheem Ashraf
  • Haris Rauf
  • Mohammad Abbas
  • Mohammad Hasnain
  • Mohammad Musa
  • Naseem Shah
  • Shaheen Shah Afridi
  • Sohail Khan
  • Wahab Riaz

Babar Azam is now captain of all three formats, despite his inability to lead the team in the right direction and often seen desperate and out of confidence in field. Supporting him in tests as Mohammad Rizwan as Vice-Captain while Shahdab Khan will be his Vice-Captain in the T20Is.

Chief Selector and Head Coach Misbah ul Haq said, “The matches in New Zealand are critical for us as we aim to improve our T20I rankings and also gain valuable points in the ICC World Test Championship. In this background and taking into consideration recent player performances, we have selected the best available players.”

“There are three major omissions from the side that toured England. Asad Shafiq has been left out due to lack of form after he managed 510 runs in his last 15 innings, including a total of 67 runs in England. Shoaib Malik and Mohammad Amir are not part of the white-ball matches as for this tour we have opted to invest, develop and focus on the promising and emerging players who are likely to be available to Pakistan for all formats.

“We have kept faith in Mohammad Hafeez and Wahab Riaz purely on the basis of their outstanding and consistent performances as well as the value they bring to the T20I squad.

Schedule of the Pakistan vs New Zealand Series

The Pakistan vs New Zealand series will consist of three T20Is and two tests. The T20Is schedule is:

18 Dec – 1st T20I, Eden Park, Auckland (12:00 PST)

20 Dec – 2nd T20I, Seddon Park, Hamilton (12:00 PST)

22 Dec – 3rd T20I, McLean Park, Napier (12:00 PST)

The ICC World Test Championship eligible test matches will be played on:

26-30 Dec – 1st Test, Bay Oval, Mount Maunganui (04:00 PST)

3-7 Jan – 2nd Test, Hagley Oval, Christchurch (04:00 PST)

Rabia Tanveer
Rabia Tanveer
Rabia Tanveer is a graduate from Kinnaird College for Women and holds a Bachelors in English Literature. She is a seasoned freelance writer with more than a decade of experience in multiple niches.
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Latest Article

Mobile Packages