PCB Awards 2021 – Categories and Nominations Announced

In a surprising turn of events, PCB has announced the PCB Awards 2021. The anticipation was high and the fans were waiting to figure out which players will be nominated in which category. Today, PCB has announced the categories as well as the nominations for the awards that will be given during the ceremony.

PCB Awards 2021

So far, Pakistan Cricket Board has 8 categories and the respective nominations for each of the categories. Each category has four nominations and the winner will be revealed at the day of the ceremony. The fans are looking forward to the ceremony and find out which player won which award.

Here is the complete breakdown of all of the categories and the nominations announced.

PCB Awards 2021 Categories and Nominations

The event of PCB Awards 2021 will be held this Thursday, which is 6th of January. The ceremony will be held as a virtual show and will be live streamed on the PCB YouTube Channel at 7PM Pakistan Standard Time.

The event will have a total of 8 categories and PCB has announced 4 nominations in each of the categories. Fawad Alam, Haris Rauf and Babar Azam have been nominated in two categories each. Hasan Ali and Mohammad Rizwan are nominated in three categories each whereas Shaheen Shah Afridi has been nominated in five categories in each, making him the most nominated player of the year.

Here are the categories and their respective nominees for PCB Awards 2021.

Most Valuable Cricketer of the Year
Babar Azam (8 Tests, 416 runs; 6 ODIs, 405 runs; 29 T20Is, 939 runs)
Hasan Ali (8 tests, 41 wickets; 4 ODIs, 7 wickets; 18 T20Is, 25 wickets)
M Rizwan (9 Tests, 455 runs; 6 ODIs, 134 runs; 29 T20Is, 1,326 runs; total dismissal 56)
Shaheen Shah Afridi (9 Tests, 47 wickets; 6 ODIs, 8 wickets; 21 T20Is, 23 wickets)

Domestic Cricketer of the Year
Asif Afridi (59 wickets in Pakistan Cup, National T20 and Quaid-e-Azam Trophy)
Iftikhar Ahmed (1,456 runs in Pakistan Cup, National T20 and Quaid-e-Azam Trophy)
Mohammad Huraira (986 runs in his debut Quaid-e-Azam Trophy)
Sahibzada Farhan (1869 runs in Pakistan Cup, National T20 and Quaid-e-Azam Trophy)
Tayyab Tahir (1,670 runs in Pakistan Cup, National T20 and Quaid-e-Azam Trophy

Emerging Cricketer of the Year
Arshad Iqbal
Azam Khan
Mohammad Wasim Jnr
Shahnawaz Dahani

*Players born on or after 1 August 1998 or have made international debuts in this calendar year or have played in a minimum of 15 matches in the Cricket Association events and HBL PSL in this calendar year are eligible. Player(s) once nominated in this category, cannot be re-nominated.

Women’s Cricketer of the Year
Aliya Riaz (11 ODIs, 382 runs; 6 T20Is, 94 runs; 364 runs in Pakistan Women’s Cup)
Anam Amin (9 ODIs, 15 wickets; 6 T20Is, 7 wickets)
Fatima Sana (13 ODIs, 20 wickets; 3 T20Is, 4 wickets; 6 wickets in Pakistan Women’s Cup)
Nida Dar (10 ODIs, 363 runs and 6 wickets; 6 T20Is, 95 runs and 7 wickets; 146 runs and 14 wickets in Pakistan Women’s Cup)

Impactful performance of the year
Fawad Alam (109 v SA, 1st Test)
Hasan Ali (10-114 v SA, 2nd Test)
M Rizwan (79* v Ind, T20 World Cup)
Shaheen Shah Afridi (3-31 v Ind, T20 World Cup)

T20I Cricketer of the Year
Haris Rauf (23 T20Is, 25 wickets)
M Rizwan (29 T20Is, 1,326 runs)
Shadab Khan (18 T20Is, 20 wickets, Eco. 6.64)
Shaheen Shah Afridi (21 T20Is, 23 wickets. Eco. 7.86)

ODI Cricketer of the Year
Babar Azam (6 ODIs, 405 runs)
Fakhar Zaman (6 ODIs, 365 runs)
Haris Rauf (6 ODIs, 13 wickets)
Shaheen Shah Afridi (6 ODIs, 8 wickets)

Test Cricketer of the Year
Abid Ali (9 Tests, 695 runs)
Fawad Alam (9 Tests, 571 runs)
Hasan Ali (9 Tests, 41 wickets)
Shaheen Shah Afridi (9 tests, 47 wickets)

The winners of the categories of Spirit of Cricket and Umpire of the Year awards will be revealed in the ceremony of PCB Awards 2021.

Rabia Tanveer
Rabia Tanveer
Rabia Tanveer is a graduate from Kinnaird College for Women and holds a Bachelors in English Literature. She is a seasoned freelance writer with more than a decade of experience in multiple niches.
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Latest Article

Mobile Packages