Pakistan vs New Zealand 2023 ODI Series Squad Announced

The ODI squad for Pakistan vs New Zealand ODI Series has been announced. Interim Chief Selector Shahid Afridi has given a list of a 16-member squad for the three-match series, which includes three new players who will make their debut in this historic series.

Shaheen Afridi is still working on his rehabilitation and will be absent from the team. Shahdab Khan, who is the vice-captain of the team, injured his finger while playing for Hobart Hurricanes in the Big Bash League and has been removed from the squad for that reason.

Pakistan vs New Zealand ODI series

However, this has opened room for some new players.

Pakistan vs New Zealand ODI Squad Announced

Pakistan vs New Zealand ODI Series squad includes three new names and a comeback of one of the best opening batsmen in Pakistani cricket history. Fakhar Zaman is making his comeback after being injured before T20 World Cup. Haris Rauf is also back in the squad after sustaining an injury in the series against England.

Here is the complete 16 men’s squad for Pakistan vs New Zealand ODI Series.

  • Babar Azam
  • Fakhar Zaman
  • Haris Rauf
  • Haris Sohail
  • Imam-ul-Haq
  • Kamran Ghulam
  • Mohammad Hasnain
  • Mohammad Nawaz
  • Mohammad Rizwan
  • Mohammad Wasim Jnr
  • Naseem Shah
  • Salman Ali Agha
  • Shahnawaz Dahani
  • Shan Masood
  • Tayyab Tahir
  • Usama Mir

Shahid Afridi, the Interim Chief Selector said, “We had limited ODI cricket last year and this year, we are scheduled to play 11 ODIs before we participate in the Asia Cup, followed by the World Cup in conditions that will be familiar to us. So, we aim to make optimum use of these 11 ODIs by providing opportunities to our consistent performers that will enable us to select the best available players for the two important tournaments.”

Usama Mir and Tayyab Tahir will be making their debut as well as Kamran Ghulam. Haris Sohail and Shan Masood are also making a comeback in the ODI squad with this series. Haris Sohail last played for Pakistan back in 2020 and Shan Masood has not been a part of the ODI squad since 2019.

Shahid Afridi further said, “We have not only rewarded Tayyab Tahir and Usama Mir for their outstanding performances in our domestic events, but they have also been identified as future prospects. These four players, along with Kamran Ghulam, have good knowledge of our conditions and have the talent and potential to excel at the highest level.”

Pakistan Vs New Zealand ODI Series Schedule

Pakistan will play a total of three ODIs with New Zealand. Currently, Team Pakistan is playing the second and final test. All matches will be played in Karachi. Here is the complete ODI schedule.

ODI Date Time Venue
1st ODI 9th Jan, Monday 2:30 pm National Cricket Stadium, Karachi
2nd ODI 11th Jan, Wednesday 2:30 pm National Cricket Stadium, Karachi
3rd ODI 13th Jan, Friday 2:30 pm National Cricket Stadium, Karachi


Rabia Tanveer
Rabia Tanveer
Rabia Tanveer is a graduate from Kinnaird College for Women and holds a Bachelors in English Literature. She is a seasoned freelance writer with more than a decade of experience in multiple niches.
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Latest Article

Mobile Packages